top of page

Treasure

I remember the day you were born. You were so small, so precious. I stood in amazement at the treasure I had created. Your eyes were as blue as the ocean, hair like silk, thick and dark. Your nose, small and cherry red. But most importantly, you belonged to me. Perfect! Oh, how I loved you so, Desirae!


I remember the joy of your youth. You had so much. The thought of my love for you brought you comfort when the storms blew on through. Your heart used to glow. The light of life resided in your heart so small. I felt it. I knew you, my treasure, my Desirae.


You loved me, Des! You looked forward to seeing me every morning, as a bride does a good morning kiss from her groom. Every moment we spent together I treasured up in my heart. In yours, I felt the delight, my treasure.


Desirae, I see you, but you aren't the same. You look at yourself in disgust. Those eyes, the face that I called good, you no longer see. Scars cover the canvas that I made so pure. Baby, who told you to be ashamed? Who told you, "You are not good"?


The light of life has left your eyes. They have grown dark. Sorrow reveals itself, bubbling from once green crevices.


I see you, Desirae. Where did you go? I see the fear in your eyes. Who put that there? I called you by name. You scream and run the other way. Wait! Don't go! Please don't run from me! I feel your anguish. Your tears have a painful sound. My heart tears as you run. Who taught you to run from me? My eyes are burning.


My heart is slamming against my ribcage. Stop! Listen to me! My feet slip, and my face meets the earth. Blood dampens my flesh. I'm not stopping. I continue to damage my body. Holes have formed in my hands and feet. My head has become a river of red water. My strength is exposed. But you are worth it. I call out your name again.


You have halted at an abyss of emptiness, everything that I am not. I feel the ache in your heart. I hear you think-wait-what?! No, please tell me you won't do that! I don't want to be separated from you forever! Don't throw yourself away. You were never meant for this.


Your body crumbles to the ground. My hand reaches your shoulder. It's painful to feel my touch. Please listen to me. I can and will make you a new creation, better than you were before. I love you, treasure. You are still my Desirae. Life and death are set before you. Will you have me?

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page